Book Review | The Absolute Sandman Volume 1 | All Sorts of Fangirling Inside

The Absolute Sandman, Vol. 1

The BLURB!

In 1916, Dream is captured and encased in a glass globe in a failed attempt by a fictional Edwardian magician (very much in the vein of Aleister Crowley) named Roderick Burgess to bind Death and attain immortality.

(^^Taken from Sandman Volume 1^^)

One of the most popular and critically acclaimed comic book titles of all time, New York Times best-selling author Neil Gaiman’s masterpiece THE SANDMAN set new standards for mature, lyrical fantasy and graphic narrative. Now, Vertigo and DC Comics are proud to present the first of four definitive Absolute Editions collecting this groundbreaking series in its entirety.

The Absolute Sandman Volume One reprints issues 1-20 of THE SANDMAN, and features all-new coloring on issues 1-18 commissioned especially for this edition. This volume also includes a full reproduction of Gaiman’s original proposal for the series and the complete script and pencils by Gaiman and Charles Vess for the World Fantasy Award-winning story “A Midsummer Night’s Dream” from THE SANDMAN #19. Finally, a gallery of character design sketches show the evolution of Dream of the Endless.

The REVIEW!!

I’m relatively new to Gaiman.  I’m also relatively new to comics and graphic novels.  So please feel free to take the following fangirl-gasming with a grain of salt.  If you haven’t read this series yet, I highly freaking recommend you go to your library and start this, and soon.  If this first Volume is any indication on what to expect from the future ones, then I know I’m in for one hell of a ride.

I don’t think I’ve read anything like this before.  I love that every element of this story felt new and real and raw to me.  It bewitched me.  I’ve fallen hard for these worlds and characters, and I’m happy that I’ll be able to live in it for a little longer.

The WRITING!

Neil Gaiman is pure fucking magic when it comes to writing.

The ART!

The art instantly drew me in to this comic.  I loved the style, and I thought the artists did an incredible freaking job giving life to Gaiman’s characters and worlds.

  

The STORY!

Following Dream/Morpheus on his journey as he escaped a prison meant for his sister Death, was a really fascinating story, but it was only the beginning.  There were so many other fantastical tales showing the evolution of Dream.  The worlds were vast.  Some were familiar and some were strange and new to me, and I loved seeing Dream interact with the people/creatures/things in each of them.  He’s Endless, and every story showed what he has done during his existence.  The stories showed that he can be selfless and objective, and the stories showed that he can also be selfish and cruel.  I enjoyed reading about all the different aspects of Dream.

The Absolute Sandman Volume 1 was a pure pleasure to read.  It’s clearly Magic.

The RATING!

(5 for Goodreads anyway,

all the stars to me)

4 thoughts on “Book Review | The Absolute Sandman Volume 1 | All Sorts of Fangirling Inside

  1. The Sandman is such a great series! 😀 Do you know if the Absolute Sandman volumes include any of the spin-off comics (e.g. The High Cost of Living, Endless Nights, etc.)? ‘Cause you should definitely give them a try if you haven’t already!

    Also, I’ve tagged you to do The Liebster Award, if you haven’t already (& if you want to, I guess – feel free to ignore if you don’t like tags!). My post is here: https://jarofbooks.wordpress.com/2015/05/04/the-liebster-award/

    • Howdy!

      I’m wasn’t sure about the extras until I checked the wonderful all knowing Wikipedia. It looks like those spin-off comics are in Absolute Sandman Volume 5 and The Absolute Death. I know my library doesn’t have Volume 5, but I’ll check to see if they have The Absolute Death. If not, I’ll definitely look into checking out the spin-offs.

      I’m currently collecting (and it’s partially what peaked my interest) The Sandman Overture. I think those are new stories though, and as far as I know there’s only going to be six single issues of that. I’m not 100% sure though.

      Thank you for tagging me. I’m not sure if I’ll be doing tags on this blog, but if I do, I’ll definitely write this one down and make sure I do it first.

      Thanks for stopping by and giving me some suggestions on a few more comics to try out from this world.

Leave a Reply

