BEDA 9 | This Week’s Reading | April 6 – 10

A Reunion Of Ghosts   The Absolute Sandman, Vol. 1   Trigger Warning: Short Fictions and Disturbances

^^^ Currently Reading ^^^

It was a pretty quiet reading week for me.  While I read a little bit of Trigger Warning, I only finished one book…err, graphic novel, and that was Will O’ the Wisp by Tom Hammock, illustrated by Megan Hutchison.  It was definitely different from what I normally read, but that’s never a bad thing.

THE BLURB!:

After her parents’ accidental death by mushroom poisoning, young Aurora Grimeon is sent to live with her estranged grandfather on Ossuary Isle, deep in the southern swamps. Joined by her grandfather’s pet raccoon Missy, Aurora explores the fog-covered island of graves. Along the way she meets its sinister residents who care for the tombstones and mausoleums, living out their lives by the strange rules of Hoodoo magic. When ghostly things start happening out in the swamp and island residents start disappearing, Aurora thrusts herself into the middle of the mystery, uncovering secrets that might be better left buried.

While Aurora was the main character, the story involved all of the inhabitants on Ossuary Isle, and I really liked that party of the main focus was on the story as a whole rather than on one character.  That may put off some readers, but I enjoyed learning about the culture and how each of the residents viewed Hoodoo.

(I loved Aurora and the pet raccoon, Missy’s interactions the most!)

It was all very fascinating.

This is the author’s first graphic novel, and I thought he did well telling the story through a mix of horror and whimsical elements.  And while I didn’t look anything about Hoodoo up prior to reading this, he seems extremely knowledgeable about the rules and from the Introduction, you read about how strongly he feels about sharing this information.  I loved how passionate he was about what he was writing, and I feel it shows in the story.

Megan Hutchison’s art was spectacular and worked so well for this novel.

It was pretty and creepy and magical looking.  I just loved it.

Together Tom Hammock and Megan Hutchison really made a fantastical, creepy story come to life, and I will be keeping my eyes on the lookout for future work by both of them.

Leave a Reply

