T5W | Series You Want to Start This Year |

Top 5 Wednesday

Created/Hosted by Lainey

Wow, it’s already the second week of the new year!  2015 already feels like it’s entering some type of time warp, much like 2014 seemed to, and the weeks are just flying by.  Hopefully the year slows down soon, so I can take a breath and enjoy each day.  We’ll see.

The great news of another week already being here, is that it’s Wednesday, and that means – T5W time!  This week’s topic is the series I want to start this year. This list isn’t in any particular order and all of these series sound pretty awesome.  I’m absolutely looking forward to picking up these books throughout the year!

1.  The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare

City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments, #1)  City of Ashes (The Mortal Instruments, #2)  City of Glass (The Mortal Instruments, #3)

City of Fallen Angels (The Mortal Instruments, #4)  City of Lost Souls (The Mortal Instruments, #5)  City of Heavenly Fire (The Mortal Instruments, #6)

These books are heavily hyped on booktube, as well as Goodreads, and the series sounds, potentially right up my alley.  The story follows a girl, Clary who (by the sounds of the synopsis) gets thrust into this magical world filled with demons, Shadowhunters, and other mystical good-ness after witnessing a murder.

2.  The Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare

Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices, #1)  Clockwork Prince (The Infernal Devices, #2)  Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices, #3)

Yep, that’s right, it’s the prequel/companion series to The Mortal Instruments one by the same author.  When reading these two series, I am going to follow Christine’s (polandbananasBOOKs) suggestion on what order to read these 9 books in (you can see her recommendation talk on the order around the 5:53 mark of the video).

3.  The Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas

Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass, #1)  Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass, #2)  Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass, #3)

OK, so quick initial thoughts about the covers.  Before I had heard anything about the books, I saw these covers and the image character instantly reminded me of Drizzt from RA Salvatore’s novels – what with her duel wielding scimitars and looking like a BAMF.

And then I read the synopsis on Goodreads.

I’ve wanted to read these for a while, but I just kept putting them off for some reason.  The series (which still has 3 books to go) follows an assassin by the name of Celaena.  She’s a fantastic assassin, but unfortunately she gets caught, and I believe that’s where her challenges really begin. Celaena has a way to earn her freedom by fighting in this gladiator – fight to the death type of tournament.  Sounds interesting and really action packed.

4.  The Mistborn trilogy by Brandon Sanderson

The Final Empire (Mistborn, #1)  The Well of Ascension (Mistborn, #2)  The Hero of Ages (Mistborn, #3)

Lately when people talk about epic fantasies, they almost always seem to rave about Brandon Sanderson’s work.  I’ve been looking forward to getting back into the fantasy genre, and the Mistborn series sounds spectacular.  I’ve already started The Final Empire for the Booksplosion book club, but I just had to include this trilogy!

5.  The Red Rising trilogy by Pierce Brown

Red Rising (Red Rising Trilogy, #1)  Golden Son (Red Rising Trilogy, #2)

Once again, the hype is pressuring me to read these books.  I’m definitely looking forward to trying this trilogy out, and I will admit that I am choosing to go into the trilogy relatively blind.

We’ll see if that’s the right decision.

And now I’m cheating, because the following series are ones I’m also planning on getting to this year:

Falling Kingdoms (Falling Kingdoms, #1)  The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle, #1)  The Gunslinger (The Dark Tower, #1)

Let me know if you’ve read any of these, and if I should bump some of these series for other ones, or if I missed any really worthwhile series.

6 thoughts on “T5W | Series You Want to Start This Year |

  1. I’m very fond of ‘The Mortal Instruments’ and ‘Throne of Glass’. I read ‘Red Rising’ recently myself and it was a pretty good book. I’m not a fan of ‘The Infernal Devices’, but loads of people like it, so maybe you will 🙂

    • I’m really hoping that I’ll like it. The historical aspects of it might make it a little harder for me to get into, but I’m really trying to expand on what I read, and I thought this might be a easy start for me before attempting historical fiction.

      • The historical aspects are generally very well done, but the book doesn’t feel overly historical as you read it, so it should give you a good step up into historical fiction without being overwhelming.

  2. I just started reading The Mortal Instruments series for Bout of Books. It’s a lot better than I was expecting it to be. I just finished the 3rd book, and I plan on finishing the series unless it goes really downhill.

    The Mistborn trilogy is on my list, as well. I have yet to read a Sanderson, so I’m excited for it.

    If you want to, you can check out my T5W list here.

      • I just finished the first book of the Mistborn last night, and I’m just waiting for my library to fill my reserve for the next book. It was near perfection to me. I’m just amazed at how much I loved it, and I’m definitely going to be checking out Sanderson’s other works as well.

        King has always been an author I’ve shied away from. I enjoy reading horror, so I know that’s not why, but for whatever reason, I just really haven’t read much by him. I’m hoping to change that this year, and I thought the Dark Tower series would be a great introduction to King in a less horrific setting.

Leave a Reply

