Bout of Books 12

I will be participating for the second time in the Bout of Books read-a-thon  It’s a full week starting today (the 5th) and going through January 11th.

Bout of Books

The Bout of Books Read-a-Thon was created by Amanda @ On a Book Bender on a complete whim in August 2011*. It took on a life of its own and was such a hit that Amanda decided to do it again and turn it into a somewhat regular occurrence.

  • Bout of Books is a week long read-a-thon, usually from 12:01am on a Monday through 11:59pm on a Sunday in whatever time zone you are in.

  • It is low pressure, meaning participants are only asked to push themselves to read more than they normally would during any given week. There is no competition between readers.

  • How much time a reader wants, and can commit, to read, tweet, or network with fellow bloggers is left to individual preference. All challenges and giveaways are optional.

  • Networking with fellow bloggers is actively encouraged, though never required.

  • Use Twitter to post updates throughout the read-a-thon. Everyone will be tweeting with the #boutofbooks hashtag.

I wish I could remember if I did well during the last Bout of Books, but I can’t.  I’m pretty sure I did relatively OK with how regularly I was reading, and I think I met my personal goals.  Now that I have a blog though, I’ll be able to keep track of goals like this.  Yay!

My personal goals for this read-a-thon:

  • To complete 3 books:

Leviathan (Leviathan, #1)       Beautiful You       The Cuckoo's Calling (Cormoran Strike, #1)

  • To start:

The Final Empire (Mistborn, #1)      Maus, I: A Survivor's Tale: My Father Bleeds History (Maus, #1)

We’ll see on Maus at least.  I’m waiting for my reserved copy at the library.

  • To attempt the challenges!  They all look like a lot of fun, and now that I have this new shiny, fancy…ish blog, I’ll have a place to put my responses!

I’m definitely looking forward to participating this year, and I’m really hoping that I complete the 3 books that I want to.  If you’ve stopped by and are doing the read-a-thon, I wish you happy reading and much success!

Leave a Reply

